SMA Hive: AP 11 Summer Reading Literary Criticism: Databases

Research Tips

Search Multnomah County Library Databases first for critical sources for this assignment.

Pro Tip: start with Literature Criticism Online and then JSTOR.

Search by the author's name, followed by one of the following keywords:

Add other keyword as you refine your thesis.

Discover a comprehensive collection of periodical and scholarly journals. GREAT digital resource.

Academic Search Premier
More than 8500 magazines indexed. Complete articles from more than 4600 magazines. Some magazines cover dates earlier than 1975. Science, engineering, theology, language, literature magazines are included.

Resource Type:
Articles- full text, Articles- peer reviewed, magazine articles
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital archive of full-text academic and scholarly journals published around the world from the 1600s to the present. It also includes primary source materials such as letters, images and pamphlets.
Literature Criticism Online
Use this resource to answer questions like:
* What happened to E.E. Cummings in World War One?
* What did people think of To Kill a Mockingbird when it was published?
* How have Disney films influenced children’s literature?

Resource Type:
Articles- full text
Literature Resource Center
Find information on current and historical authors and their writings. Criticism, biographies, overviews, reviews, multimedia. Search for authors by nationality, literary movements, themes and genres. Read full-text articles from literary journals and review publications.

Resource Type:
Articles- full text, Biographies, Trade publications